• zythe
    This was started in the Football thread.

I have never like the two font approach to UC Davis. When was this adopted?

How do we change the branding?
  • Bige70
    I'm not sure when this started; I feel like they were using it as far back as the 1990s when I was an undergrad. I did find this mark registered with the USPTO in 2010 http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=doc&state=4804:i8n4a2.10.131, but I am sure they were using this much earlier.

In any case, I'm with you @zythe. Let's start the petition - maybe drop a line to Dr. Blue? He understands that athletics is essentially marketing for the university at large and how important branding is in that effort. Maybe he will know the proper channels?
  • ucdavisaggie05
    As an aside....I'm completely onboard if they decide to ditch the horse-C logo on the helmets and roll with script Davis almost exclusively, with maybe some block-CA as an alternate.
  • Bige70
    Script Davis and as an alternative this:

RH866935%20UC%20Davis%20Aggies%20Top%20of%20the%20World%20quotNCAA%20Team%20Color%20PC%20CapquotNavy.jpg

Let's ditch the wannabe Denver Broncos logo forever.
  • 69aggie
    Yes, the horse thing was a good idea but the complicated design was horrible. Just too, too much. Not good and I don't think anyone ever really liked it at all. The best are simple and clear: no. 1. the tree- stanford; next: cal- cal; next nothing without just the first letter of the school on the cap. I Loved the CA cap and will always have one. I bet blue has figured this out already.
  • SochorField
    I have a feeling we are headed in this direction. The script Davis has been BOLDED and enlarged and is now more visable. Its all about marketing. In the "old days" the script Davis was hardly visible from afar.
    s7yhij5byl847u3m.jpg
  • fugawe09