• eastbayaggie
    I use this site to monitor California's real time air quality. I saw Davis went from "unhealthy for sensitive groups" to "unhealthy" this morning.

https://aqicn.org/map/california/#@g/37.7194/-121.6516/8z
  • Idaho Aggie
    Movielover, as a former wildland firefighter I can't agree that more logging would make the difference. That said, there's plenty of disagreement among firefighters on that issue. Here's an article I read this morning by an expert on the subject: https://slate.com/technology/2018/11/california-woolsey-camp-fire-trump-forest-management.html
  • BlueGoldAg
    That's a very informative article. Thanks for posting it.
  • OldAggie
    Sadly, I've witnessed this exact situation first hand during the Angora Fire. Growing up in South Lake I recall seeing piles of debris for winter burns all over Angora's fire lookout (its been a turnaround for my bike rides and trail runs for 35 years). Then it stopped. Angora burst into flames, and now I'm seeing the piles again. Fire's are required for a health forest, and we stop them before they get to do their job. We are now in tinder box all over this state. My CalFire buddies have been talking about this for years...sadly their worst case is happening. Building in heavily forested areas is downright dangerous today.
  • agalum
    Does anyone know if the team practiced today?

For some reason, the air quality maps show Vacaville having cleaner air. What about having the game at Vacaville High or maybe a JC if our air quality is bad?
  • AggieFinn
    Well, big help is on the way.

Link
  • movielover
    Great! But why don't we own one of these, ready to go, in California?
  • Riveraggie
    Because we need the money for the Governor’s pension
  • AggieFinn

I have to imagine these planes are rare...and expensive.
  • Riveraggie

California has almost 10 times the GDP of Colorado
    I now see it’s a private company
  • movielover
    I wonder what the emergency rental fee is per day?