• movielover
    Just caught this, can't access Bob Dunning's article in The Enterprise. Here is the campus release. What a wonderful man.

https://www.ucdavis.edu/news/memoriam-will-lotter-and-brian-wadell
  • BlueGoldAg
    depr9jgg342e1kcu.png

I first met Will shortly after I graduated in 1975 and had taken a job with the City of Davis Recreation Department. He taught a class in community recreation and one of his class requirements was for his students to create a community recreation event. The class decided to put on a New Games Day and they approached me to help them with the planning and advertising and with reserving an area of Community Park for the event. It was during that time that I struck up a fond friendship with Will.

Will was a very conscientious and joyful man who was always positive and empathic with everyone he met. He was the kind of person that you just felt comfortable with as soon as you met him. We had a lot in common even though he was 22 years my senior: we were both veterans, we loved athletic activity and we both cared deeply about humanitarian issues and social justice. He felt like a mentor to me during a time in my life where my life's path had a lot of uncertainty. Our conversations were reassuring to me and he helped me feel more grounded in who I was and where I was going.

Shortly after the successful New Games Day event I was at a recreation conference where I heard Dr. Leo Buscaglia give the keynote address. He was a professor of special education at USC and a noted author who taught a wildly popular class entitled "Love." I found his speech inspiring and full of wisdom and I decided to see if I could arrange to bring him to UCD for a presentation. I talked to Will about him and he was excited about the idea. Together we were able to bring Dr. Buscaglia to speak in Young Hall and afterwards Will and his wife, Jane, hosted a reception at their home.